A Stroll Around Lady Bird Lake

“He who seeks beauty will find it.” – Bill Cunningham

When I first moved to Austin in 2005, I lived a 5-minute walk from the trail and would walk there almost every day.  I immediately fell in love with the beauty of the trail and the feeling of being immersed in a cross-section of Austin society.  I came to see my frequent walks there as my daily meditation–a way to clear my mind and recharge.

These days, I don’t live so close, it’s not possible to get there nearly as often, and my walks are very different from what they once were.

Most of my trips to the trail are with my 2-year old daughter.  My once quiet, contemplative jaunt is now peppered with the sweet chatter of an inquisitive toddler.  It’s different, but I have come to appreciate  my  OUR walks for what they now are.

Frequent stops to pick up pretty leaves, watch the swans flying low–wings flapping on the water–up the lake,  or to let her get out of the stroller to run for a stretch make it less of a workout that it once was.

But it’s still one of my favorite things to do in Austin.

Share your thoughts on Lady Bird Lake!

_____________________________________________________________

-Jennifer Rustgi, Kid Culture Austin

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Destinations, Outdoor Fun

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

