Toddler Book Club Activity-My Heart is Like a Zoo, by Michael Hall


Frightened as a rabbit, jumpy as a frog, gloomy as a lone coyote walking in the fog.”

The rhyming text and bold, simple illustrations of My Heart is Like a Zoo, by Michael Hall make it a natural choice for a Toddler Book Club read.  This was the very first book I chose for our book club, and it became a favorite of my daughter’s and other children in our club.  Several of the mothers in the group mentioned that their child had quickly memorized the text of the book and would “read” along with them, an important step in early literacy!

Activity:

I simply chose one of the illustrations in the book to recreate, using different sized hearts-just like the author/illustrator.

Materials:

  • construction paper
  • glue sticks
  • pre-cut heart shapes of varying sizes ( I purchased the smaller “feet”and cut out the larger “body” hearts).
  • markers, crayons, or coloring pencils

Steps:

  • After reading and discussing story (counting hearts, talking about emotions, etc), go back to page in the book that shows the image you want to recreate.  As always, keep it simple for the very young ones.  We all recreated the same image, but older children will be able to choose which animal they want to make.
  • It’s good to have one pre-made to use as a model.
  • Demonstrate to parents and kids how to make.  Simply glue and place hearts on the construction paper to make the animal of your choice.  The eyes and other elements can be drawn in.  I just copied the arrangements of the hearts from the book to make the caterpillar.
  • Remember, keep it simple with the little ones!
  • Have Fun!

Do you have a book club activity that you’d like to share?  Message me at jennrustgi (at) gmail (dot) com.  I’d love to add it to my series!

Check out my post on tips for starting your own Toddler Book Club here.

You don’t have to live in Austin to like  Kid Culture Austin.  Many of my posts I share are about cool ideas and activities to do at home with young children.  Follow my blog and get all my latest posts!

-Jennifer Rustgi, Kid Culture Austin

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Early Literacy

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

