Fun with Solar Printing!

As I was digging through our kitchen junk drawer one day this week, I came across a package of Solar Printing materials that I had picked up at Toy Joy over a year ago.  It was a bright, sunny day and we were were heading outdoors to play anyway, so I thought we’d give it a try.  I’m so glad we did because we had an absolute ball with it!

After getting a sense of the process, approximate exposure time, and showing my daughter what we were going to do by testing on a practice sheet, I sent her off to gather objects.  She grabbed dried leaves, rocks, sticks, flowers, and a chew bone for our dogs that was lying out in the back yard.

It being sorta fall-ish here in Central Texas, I decided to throw in a few pumpkins into the mix.

We used an assortment of small rocks on our first attempt.

After letting the paper be exposed for about three minutes, we rushed into the kitchen to give it a quick rinse.  It was pretty late in the afternoon, so there was a long shadow.  This (unintentionally) made the prints have some beautiful gradiations and (to my surprise) the rock print ended up being my favorite of the bunch.

I was so encouraged by the first print that we got a little creative, using the shadow of a flowering plant casting down on the paper.

Check out little Solar Print making factory!  My daughter LOVED this project.  Each time I ran into the house with a new print to rinse she’d run after me shouting, “This is so exciting!”

After rinsing each print, we carefully blotted them and set them on a rack to dry.

Then prominently displayed them on one of our kitchen closet doors.  So much fun!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We used the Solar Printing Paper kit, by Toysmith for our project.

 

____________________________________________________________________________

-Jennifer Rustgi, Kid Culture Austin

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Arts, Fun at Home

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Fun with Solar Printing!”

  1. September 24, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    This is super cool!!!
    🙂
    Traci

    • September 24, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks, Traci! We really had a fun time with it, and the prints look great.

Leave a Reply

