Barre3 Works for Me

Though I’ve never considered myself a fitness fanatic, regular excercise and staying in shape has always been important to me.  The method has varied over the years (aerobics, weight classes, Yoga, walking, you name it), but making time for it was a given.

Everything changed for me once my daughter was born in 2010.  Suddenly, there just weren’t enough hours in the day to get in a workout.  Sound familiar?  On the rare occasions that I did make time for myself, I was hit by that all too familiar feeling of mommy guilt.  I’d leave my daughter with my husband for a few hours and beat myself up over it the whole time.  This happened time and time again.

It makes me cringe to see headlines in the media about this celebrity or that struggling to get back her figure after having a baby.  After the joy and privilege of carrying a child and experiencing first-hand how it changes a mother’s body, I fall into the camp of honoring, not disrespecting that transformation.  But….two years out from my daughter’s birth, more than anything, I found myself dissatisfied with how I felt.  I was losing that sense of healthiness that regular exercise had always given me.  I finally got to the point of enough is enough.  I needed to do something!

A few weeks ago, I decided to give Barre3 a whirl, and I absolutely love it.

The space at each studio–one Downtown and another at the Hill Country Galleria— is modern, open, and bright. They even have a play lounge for the kiddos, so my daughter can come with me (I’m still working through the mommy guilt, but it does help that she has taken to asking when we can go to the “gym”).

Each energizing, 60-minute class incorporates elements of Pilates, Yoga, and Barre ( Read more on the method here).  I find it challenging but in a good way.

I’ve been practicing for three weeks now, and I can already see and feel an improvement in my posture, muscle tone, and sense of well-being.  I highly recommend giving it a try.

-Jennifer Rustgi, Kid Culture Austin

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Barre3

Check out the Barre3 website for more information, hours, and new client specials.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Kid Culture Moms

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Barre3 Works for Me”

  1. August 15, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    A few years ago I went through a zumba phase/craze and was able to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight. I burned out on it and have yet to find something else I love the way I did zumba. I’d love to try it but did you notice any really clutzy people in your class? How many times a week are you doing it?

  2. August 15, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Amanda-I tried Zumba a few times and never felt so uncoordinated in all my life. I you can do Zumba, you can definitely do Barre3. It actually is not challenging in that way at all. It’s lots of small-controlled movements, targeting muscles you don’t even know you have!

Leave a Reply

